The interviews after your arrival

Travel route and age

Before your interview, the police will photograph you and take prints of all 10 fingers.
Do not be scared.

Fingerprints are stored on the computer. A person can change their name, but fingerprints always remain the same on every person. All European police departments work together. They compare the fingerprints stored on the computer. The police see immediately if a person has been in a different country. The Dublin Procedure begins.

Show all your documents/papers to the police. For example: passport, doctor’s letters, school reports, photos. The police need this information. The police can check your documents and papers.

The police will ask you questions, for example about things like:

• Home / your country
• Family / relatives
• Birthday / age
• Route / journey / countries

Answer all questions as well as you can. Is there an answer you do not know? Say “I do not know”. Only say what you know for sure. That is okay.

Please tell the truth.

Has somebody told you what you should say? For example the person who brought you to Austria? The information from these people is often false. Please tell the police your true story. Please tell them what you know. Tell the police about the people who told you what you should say.

At the end of the interview with the police, the record/transcript will be read aloud (information on the record is here). The interpreter will tell you exactly what it says. Listen carefully.

Is everything in the record written the way you said it? Only sign if you are sure it is correct. You will have more interviews later. All of your interviews will be compared.

You can get a copy of the record. Ask for a copy of the record.

The police in Austria

© BMI Gerd Pachauer

In Austria, the police have various tasks. Have you applied for asylum? The police will write down your name, ask questions about your travel route and take your fingerprints. A different authority – the Federal Office for Immigration and Asylum – will decide on your application. But they know what you have told the police.

Bild: © BMI Gerd Pachauer

The police also deals with crimes. If somebody does something bad to you – hits you, steals from you, threatens you, forces you to work – please go to the police. They will help you. Also talk to your care worker.

INFORMATION FOR TEENAGERS UNDER 18 YEARS
  • What is child trafficking? Children and adolescents are forced to work, beg, steal or sell sex. Child trafficking is forbidden. All children and adolescents are protected by the law. Please say if you are
    being forced to work for somebody. The police helps children and adolescents.

 

Important information

Removal of money

The police can check to see how much money you have when you come to Austria. If you have more than 120 euros, the police can take away the rest; they are only allowed to take a maximum of 840 euros from you. 17 euros are deducted for each day you spend at the camp. When you are taken to your new accommodation, you will be given any remaining money back. If you have questions about this, get in touch with your legal advisor.

Removal of mobile phones

The police can also take your mobile phone from you to check who you are and how you got to Austria. The police are only allowed to do this if you do not have any other documents with you to answer these questions. They also have to give the mobile phone back to you as soon as they are finished with it. If you have questions about this, go to your legal advisor.

Do I need to speak German?

You can speak in your language. There is an interpreter present at every interview. Interpreters speak your language and German. They repeat in German exactly what you say in your language. They tell you exactly what the case owner/interviewer asked.

Interpreters are language mediators, not judges. Interpreters are not allowed to state their opinion. Interpreters have to be neutral. Interpreters are not allowed to share any information. Do you not understand the interpreter? Do you think he is not translating correctly? Does the interpreter scare you? Please say so immediately. There are no negative consequences

Will your asylum procedure take place in Austria?

The assessment that determines whether your asylum procedure is in Austria is called the Zulassungsverfahren [admission procedure]. The law that sets out these rules is called the Dublin Regulation.

 

 

INFORMATION FOR TEENAGERS UNDER 18 YEARS
  • The law states that children and adolescents should live with their family and their relatives. Does your mother, father, sister, brother, aunt or uncle live in an EU country? Do you want to go and stay with this person? Please tell your legal advisor and the Federal Office for Immigration and Asylum. In which country does your family / do your relatives live? The Federal Office for Immigration and Asylum will ask this country if it will take charge of your asylum procedure.
  • Please do not continue your journey alone, even if the wait is long. This is dangerous.

 

Sometimes, during the admission procedure, you will receive an appointment for an interview with the Federal Office for Immigration and Asylum.

Do you want something to drink? Do you need a break? Please say so. Are you ill? Please say so.

• The Federal Ministry might ask you again about your travel route or your age, or your family.
• If you have already received protection in another country, the Federal Office for Immigration and Asylum will check whether you can go back there. If you do not want that, please tell them exactly why not.

What is the European Union (EU)?

The European Union is a group of 27 countries in Europe. The European Union is also called the “EU” for short. The countries have agreed that they want to work together and help each other.

Die Interviews nach deiner Ankunft

Reiseroute und Alter

Vor deinem Interview fotografiert dich die Polizei und macht Abdrücke von allen 10 Fingern.
Hab keine Angst.

Die Fingerabdrücke werden im Computer gespeichert. Eine Person kann Namen wechseln, aber Fingerabdrücke bleiben bei jedem Menschen immer gleich. Alle Polizeistellen in Europa arbeiten zusammen. Sie vergleichen die Fingerabdrücke im Computer. Die Polizei sieht sofort, wenn eine Person in einem anderen Land war. Das Dublin-Verfahren beginnt, es wird auch manchmal das Zulassungsverfahren genannt.

Zeig alle deine Dokumente/Papiere der Polizei. Zum Beispiel: Pass, Arztbriefe, Schulzeugnisse, Fotos. Die Polizei braucht diese Informationen. Die Polizei kann deine Dokumente und Papiere prüfen.

Die Polizei stellt dir viele Fragen, zum Beispiel zu den Themen:

  • Heimat / dein Land
  • Familie / Verwandte
  • Geburtstag / Alter
  • Weg / Reise / Länder

Beantworte alle Fragen so gut du kannst. Du weißt eine Antwort nicht? Sag „Ich weiß es nicht“. Sag nur, was du sicher weißt. Das ist okay.

Bitte erzähl die Wahrheit.

Hat dir jemand gesagt, was du erzählen sollst? Zum Beispiel die Person, die dich nach Österreich gebracht hat? Oft sind die Informationen von diesen Personen falsch. Bitte erzähl der Polizei deine wahre Geschichte. Bitte erzähl, was du weißt. Erzähl der Polizei von den Personen, die dir gesagt haben, was du sagen sollst.

Am Ende des Interviews bei der Polizei wird das Protokoll/die Niederschrift laut vorgelesen (Informationen zum Protokoll). Der Dolmetscher sagt dir genau, was drin steht. Hör gut zu.

Ist alles im Protokoll so geschrieben, wie du es gesagt hast?
Unterschreib nur, wenn es für dich stimmt. Du hast später noch mehr Interviews. Alle deine Interviews werden verglichen.

Du kannst eine Kopie des Protokolls bekommen. Bitte um eine Kopie des Protokolls.

Die Polizei in Österreich

© BMI Gerd Pachauer

In Österreich hat die Polizei verschiedene Aufgaben. Du hast einen Asylantrag gestellt? Die Polizei schreibt deinen Namen auf, stellt Fragen zu deinem Fluchtweg, und nimmt deine Fingerabdrücke ab. Eine andere Behörde – das Bundesamt für Fremdenwesen und Asyl – entscheidet über deinen Antrag. Sie weiß aber, was du der Polizei erzählt hast. Die Polizei kümmert sich auch um Verbrechen.

Bild: © BMI Gerd Pachauer

Wenn dir jemand etwas Böses tut – dich schlägt, dir etwas stiehlt, dich bedroht, dich zum Arbeiten zwingt – geh bitte zur Polizei. Sie hilft dir. Sprich mit deinem Betreuer.

INFORMATIONEN FÜR JUGENDLICHE UNTER 18 JAHREN
  • Wenn Du unter 18 Jahre alt bist sprich bitte auch mit deinem Bezugsbetreuer oder nach deinem Transfer mit dem Obsorgeberechtigten.
  • Was ist Kinderhandel?Kinder und Jugendliche müssen arbeiten, betteln, stehlen oder Sex verkaufen. Kinderhandel ist verboten. Alle Kinder und Jugendlichen sind durch das Gesetz geschützt. Bitte sag, wenn du für jemanden arbeiten musst. Die Polizei hilft Kindern und Jugendlichen.

 

Wichtige Informationen

Geldabnahme

Die Polizei kann nachschauen, wie viel Geld du hast, wenn du nach Österreich kommst. Wenn du mehr als 120 Euro hast, kann dir die Polizei den Rest wegnehmen. Sie darf dir maximal 840 Euro abnehmen. Für jeden Tag, den du im Camp bist, werden 17 Euro abgezogen. Wenn du in dein neues Quartier gebracht wirst, bekommst du Geld zurück, wenn noch etwas übrig ist. Wenn du dazu Fragen hast, wende dich an deinen Rechtsberater.

Abnahme des Mobiltelefons

Die Polizei kann dir auch dein Mobiltelefon abnehmen, um zu prüfen, wer du bist und wie du nach Österreich gekommen bist. Das darf die Polizei aber nur dann machen, wenn du keine anderen Unterlagen zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen bei dir hast. Sie muss dir das Mobiltelefon auch wieder zurückgeben, sobald sie es nicht mehr braucht. Wenn du Fragen dazu hast, geh zu deinem Rechtsberater.

Muss ich Deutsch sprechen?

Du kannst in deiner Sprache sprechen. Bei allen Interviews sind Dolmetscher dabei. Dolmetscher können deine Sprache und Deutsch. Sie sagen exakt das auf Deutsch, was du in deiner Sprache gesagt hast. Sie sagen dir genau, was der Referent/ Interviewer gefragt hat. Dolmetscher sind Sprachmittler, nicht Richter. Dolmetscher dürfen ihre Meinung nicht sagen. Dolmetscher müssen neutral sein. Dolmetscher dürfen nichts weitersagen. Du verstehst den Dolmetscher nicht? Du glaubst, er übersetzt nicht richtig? Der Dolmetscher macht dir Angst? Bitte sag es sofort. Es hat keine schlechten Folgen.

Wird dein Asylverfahren in Österreich
gemacht?

Die Prüfung, die entscheidet, ob dein Asylverfahren in Österreich ist, heißt Zulassungsverfahren. Das Gesetz, in dem diese Regeln stehen, heißt Dublin-Verordnung.

INFORMATIONEN FÜR JUGENDLICHE UNTER 18 JAHREN
  • Im Gesetz steht, dass Kinder und Jugendliche bei ihrer Familie und ihren Verwandten leben sollen. Lebt deine Mutter, dein Vater, deine Schwester, dein Bruder, deine Tante oder dein Onkel in einem Land in der EU? Möchtest du zu dieser Person? Bitte sag das deinem Rechtsberater und dem Bundesamt für Fremdenwesen und Asyl. In welchem Land lebt deine Familie / leben deine Verwandten? Das Bundesamt für Fremdenwesen und Asyl fragt dieses Land, ob es dein Asylverfahren macht.
  • Bitte reise nicht alleine weiter, auch wenn das Warten lange dauert. Es ist gefährlich.

 

Manchmal bekommst du im Zulassungsverfahren noch einen Termin für ein Interview beim Bundesamt für Fremdenwesen und Asyl.

Möchtest du etwas trinken? Brauchst du eine Pause? Bitte sag es. Bist du krank? Bitte sag es.

  • Vielleicht fragt das Bundesamt noch einmal nach deiner Reiseroute oder deinem Alter, oder deiner Familie.
  • Wenn du in einem anderen EU-Land schon Schutz
    bekommen hast, prüft das Bundesamt für Fremdenwesen und Asyl, ob du dorthin zurückkehren kannst. Wenn du das nicht möchtest, erzähle bitte genau warum nicht.

Was ist die Europäische Union (EU)?

Die Europäische Union ist eine Gruppe von 27 Ländern in Europa. Die Europäische Union wird auch kurz „EU“ genannt. Die Länder haben vereinbart, dass sie zusammenarbeiten und einander helfen wollen.